Recognition and Comprehension

“…Speed gives life a frantic quality. It is an anxious state of mind that keeps us from settling into whatever we are doing. There is always something more important than what we’re doing now. We’re double-parked outside a store, trying to find what we need, while talking to our mother on the cell-phone. Rather than accomplishing our activity well, we are nullifying it, because we aren’t really there for it. That self-generated speed creates its own power and momentum, which begin to rule us. It’s a form of small-mindedness that blinds us to what life really offers—the opportunity to develop wisdom and compassion…” by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche

The paragraph from a recent article I came across causes me to cringe. Then I acknowledge that I have a long way to go before reaching the “sky-like mind” as visualized in my meditation practice. The words hit close to home. I can go for days without anxiety and hurry, feeling very good about adapting to mindfulness and being more centred… and then the phone rings or I open my email reminding me of an urgent deadlines… and all the deep breathing in the world collapses into my chest as I touch some invisible panic button and respond in a way I loathe!

I can go for days without anxiety and hurry, feeling very good about adapting to mindfulness and being more centred. And then the phone rings… or I download my emails reminding me of urgent deadlines and all the deep breathing in the world collapses into my chest as I touch some invisible panic button and respond in a way I loathe!

Never mind the fact that worry, anxiety and rushing from point A to point Z are proven to have negative repercussions on to one’s physical and mental health. I read the reports and every time I comprehend the content of the article I am reminded to take a moment, breathe in deeply, anchor myself to let go.

I also realize how much my reactions embody western behaviour. I am grateful that I am able to recognize this. It is the first step to slowing down consciously. Breathing deeply has become my treasured companion, and when he lags behind the panic button often pops up. However, the more I am aware of my reactions the faster I can identify them and make the necessary adjustments. Each day presents a new opportunity to learn and internalize, each day my awareness grows and with each day I struggle less.

Leave a Reply

